Minggu, 03 Juli 2011

Toyota Celica 2011

The Toyota Celica name (play /ˈsɛlɨkə/) has been applied to a series of coupes made by the Japanese company Toyota. The name is ultimately derived from the Latin word coelica meaning "heavenly" or "celestial".

Throughout its life span the Celica has been powered by various four cylinder engines. The most significant change occurred in August 1985, when the car's drive layout was changed from rear wheel drive to front wheel drive. During the first three generations, American market Celicas were powered by various versions of Toyota's R series engines.

The four-wheel drive turbocharged model (designated All-trac in the United States or GT-Fourelsewhere) was produced from 1986 to 1999. Variable Valve Timing came in late 1997 Japanese models, and became standard in all models from 2000 on. Through seven generations, the model has gone through many revisions and design forks, including the Toyota Celica Supra (later known as the Toyota Supra). The Celica was available as notchback and liftback coupes, as well as a convertible.
Time line :

1970 - Celica LT, ST, GT introduced
1972 - Celica GTV introduced, first World Rally Championship (WRC) in RAC Rally
1973 - Celica introduced in liftback form in Japan in (The RA25 and TA27 were released for sale in April 1973 in Japan)
1976 - Celica wins Motor Trend Import Car of the Year
1976 - 1-millionth Celica produced in June 1977
1978 - Second generation Celica introduced; wins Motor Trend Import Car of the Year
1979 - Sunchaser semi-convertible introduced.
1981 - Sunchaser production ended.
1982 - Third generation introduced.
1984 - Celica GT-S among Consumer's Digest "Best Buys" and Car and Driver Ten Best Cars1st year for the convertible from ASC 250 made
1985 - 4,248 convertibles produced this year
1986 - Fourth generation; front wheel drive introduced in late 1985, followed by GT-Four in October 1986
1987 - New-generation convertible introduced
1988 - All-Trac/GT-Four model for export
1990 - Fifth generation introduced. Spanish driver Carlos Sainz, driving ST165 GT-Four became World Rally Champion (WRC).
1992 - Carlos Sainz won his second WRC title with ST185 GT-Four
1993 - Last year of the GT-S, All-trac Turbo. Juha Kankkunen won his 4th WRC title, driving ST185 GT-Four.
1994 - Sixth generation introduced. Didier Auriol won WRC title with ST185 GT-Four.
1995 - New generation convertible produced.
1997 - "Most Reliable Used Vehicles, MYs '89-'95" J.D. Power & Associates
1999 - Coupe discontinued
2000 - Seventh generation Celica is introduced.
2001 - US Consumer Reports rates Celica GT-S "Best Sports Coupe" "Most Wanted Sport Coupe Under $30,000" Edmunds.com
2002 - US Consumer Reports "Most Reliable Sporty Car"; Edmunds.com "Most Wanted Sport Coupe - - Under $30,000"
2005 - Celica discontinued in North America and Australia. Still in production in Japan.
2006 - Toyota ended the production of the 7th generation Celica in Japan.

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar


Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More